Chicken and Corn Soup

Hello, it’s Linnea with one of our Brodo offshoot recipes, as promised! In case you missed it, this recipe is one we usually make after making a batch of Giulian’s family’s meat and veg stock. It’s perfect because it requires some stock for the base of the soup and also provides a perfect reason to use the leftover boiled chicken, which isn’t that tasty on it’s own. Of course, this recipe can be made anytime.

Before I get into it though, I want to share a little story about me and my relationship with chicken. By the time I was about nine years old I had somehow formed very negative opinions about chicken, as a food. Maybe I didn’t like it grilled, which was how my parents often prepared it. That year in school our class trip was to a farm out in Rockford called Angelic Organics. Quick plug – my family has purchased and received boxes of vegetables from this farm for many many years and we LOVE it, so if you’re interested in that sort of thing, check out Angelic Organics or see if there’s a BLANK farm in our area. Such a great way to be healthy and buy local! Ok, back to the story. On this trip to Angelic Organics, little Linnea befriended a delightful little reddish brown chicken. I promptly named her Little Red Hen and probably carried her around for the whole trip. Upon returning home, I announced to my parents that I was going to be a chickenatarian. When they informed me that meant I would ONLY eat chicken, I quickly corrected them, saying I actually no longer wanted to eat chicken. And for some crazy reason they let me get away with it. So for the next 10 years or so, chicken was not an option. I can count the times I ate it (out of dire necessity of course) on one hand. I realized pretty quickly that chicken was a rather silly thing to swear off of; I was still eating red meat and turkey. But it became a habit and I never bothered to change it. But then Giulian came along, and with Giulian came this chicken and corn soup. I’m a sucker for soups with egg swirled into them, which this one has, so it only took a little convincing to get me to agree to eat the soup, and to end my official chicken ban once and for all. So you see, this is a very important dish.

Assuming you already have about 4-6 cups of brodo/stock and a decent amount (as much or as little as you like – we use a fair bit) of boiled, shredded chicken, the rest of the ingredients are: one can of creamed corn, some scallions, corn starch, sesame oil, and two eggs.

img_8670

Put your brodo in a pot and bring to a rolling boil. While you wait, chop up a few scallions (2-4) and toss them in with the brodo along with the creamed corn and the chicken. Add a dash of sesame oil and some salt and pepper. Next, crack your eggs into a bowl and give them a little whisk, and mix a tablespoon of cornstarch with three tablespoons of water to use as thickener. 

img_8672

Once the soup has reached a boil, add the corn starch mixture, continuing to stir as the soup thickens. Then reduce heat and allow it to simmer for a minute.

Now for the fun part. Giulian recommends removing the pot from the heat for this. Slowly pour the eggs into the pot, stirring all the while. Some recipes call for only the egg whites, but we use the whole egg. Honestly, this is my favourite part of the recipe.

cc soup.gif

Once you’ve added the eggs, your chicken and corn soup is good to go! Sprinkle with more chopped scallions, if you’re feeling fancy, and keep the salt and pepper close by in case it needs further seasoning.

img_8675

And there you have it, the reason I returned to the world of eating chicken. Enjoy!

L

One comment

Leave a Reply

