Improv Night – Pearl Couscous

I got really excited in a Trader Joe’s a couple weeks ago (honestly, not an uncommon occurrence) and I bought a box of pearl couscous. I had a vague idea of roasting some butternut squash or some root vegetables to mix into it, but we ended up using the squash for something else. The couscous was left stranded. But then a few nights ago we needed a moderately quick dinner and I was craving green vegetables, and as I was scanning the kitchen my eyes fell upon the couscous.

So, I grabbed it. Also five or so stalks of kale, a handful of frozen peas, a stalk of celery or two, and an orange bell pepper.

IMG_8899.jpg

I put Giulian in charge of roasting the bell pepper, and he sliced up an onion to roast with it. That and the couscous take the longest, so it’s best to start them first. Giulian mixed the peppers and onions with olive oil, salt, pepper, and rosemary, which seems to be our herb of choice, and put them in an oven at 450° F for 30-40 minutes, depending on how roasted you prefer them. I wanted them to retain a bit of their crunch so we took them out on the earlier side.

IMG_8900

For the couscous, I simply followed the instructions on the box, which included browning it in a pot with olive oil for 5 minutes before adding 1 3/4 c boiling water and leaving to simmer for 12 minutes, or until all the water is absorbed and the couscous has reached your desired tendency.

Once those two are going, the rest is easy. I boiled some water, added the celery and then a few minutes later added the peas. For the kale, which I sliced into smallish pieces and removed the biggest stems, I heated up a tablespoon or so of oil in a pan. Throw the kale in with some salt and pepper and lemon juice and then cover to let it steam for a bit.

Once everything is ready, just throw it all together with and season to taste. We left the peppers and onions on the side to serve but ended up mixing everything together on our plates. I just love the taste of couscous and this did not disappoint. It’s definitely a simple combination of flavours, but that’s just how I like it.

IMG_8904

Yum! And it was even a little healthy.

L

One comment

Leave a Reply

